Kagiso Rabada has been very impressive at an early age © Getty Images
Kagiso Rabada has been very impressive at an early age © Getty Images

Dec 2, 2014

South Africa have named their side to face the West Indies in the upcoming Test series. There are no major surprises in the Hashim Amla-led side. Robin Peterson managed to make a comeback to the Test side as Dane Piedt misses out due to injury. JP Duminy, who sustained an injury during the tour to Australia, has not recovered and is hence unavailable. Meanwhile, Stiaan van Zyl continues to be in the side due to Duminy’s absence.

Andrew Hudson, the chief of selectors was quoted by Cricket South Africa’s official website “We have been very pleased with the way the Test squad has performed in its last three outings in Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. Part of this has been the result of consistency in the selection process and also establishing a pecking order. Stiaan was the reserve batsman against Zimbabwe so he is the logical choice to replace Duminy. At the same time we want to bring players whom we have identified as having international potential into the team environment. This is a policy that has worked well in the past with the likes of Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar and Quinton de Kock, among others.”

Speaking about Duminy and Piedt’s status, Hudson said, “The medical committee will monitor the recovery process of both Duminy and Piedt and there is a reasonable chance that we will be able to consider JP for selection during the second half of the Test series.”

Meanwhile, there are a couple of young faces in the side. Kagiso Rabada, the young fast bowler gets his maiden Test call-up. He has played T20Is for South Africa during their latest tour to Australia. The other new name in the side is Temba Bavuma. Hudson said, “Both Temba and Kagiso have impressed at franchise and South Africa A level and they are ready to be considered for senior international duty.”

South Africa Test Squad:

Hashim Amla (c), Alviro Petersen, Dean Elgar, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Quinton de Kock (wk), Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Robin Peterson, Kyle Abbott, Kagiso Rabada, Stiaan van Zyl, Temba Bavuma.