Duanne Olivier averages an impressive 22.07 in First-Class cricket (Image courtesy: AFP)
Duanne Olivier averages an impressive 22.07 in First-Class cricket (Image courtesy: AFP)

South Africa have picked all-rounder Chris Morris and pacer Duanne Olivier for the final two Tests against Australia. The two additions make their squad size to 17. Meanwhile, ace pacer Dale Steyn continues to remain out of the squad after not playing any competitive cricket since his heel injury during Cape Town Test against India in the first week of January.

Kagiso Rabada, who has appealed against the Level 2 charge obtained in Port Elizabeth, is set to the miss the final Two Tests. The addition of Olivier and Morris boosts the pace bowling resources. Hopeful that the ban will be overturned, South Africa have named Rabada in the squad.

Circumstances have forced us to name a large squad at this stage so that we can cover all possible options,” commented CSA National Selection Panel Convener Linda Zondi as reported by Cricbuzz. ALSO READ: Kagiso Rabada s appeal against ICC to be heard on March 19

Once we have finalised our playing XI we will release players to their franchises for the final round of the Sunfoil Series. We have retained the 15 players who produced an excellent performance to level the Test Series in Port Elizabeth. Olivier was the pick of our bowlers for South Africa A in their tour match against Australia while Morris has been in excellent form in domestic cricket, taking four wickets in an innings and making more than 150 runs, including a century, for the Titans in the Sunfoil Series against the league-leading Warriors.

Morris and Olivier haven t played Tests in 2018. Morris has last played a Test in England in July 2017. Olivier has phenomenal First-Class record, averaging 22.07. He played five Tests last year and fared impressively. He impressed with 4 for 74 in the tour game against Australians.

The series is tied 1-1 with the final Tests to be played at Cape Town and Johannesburg respectively.

South Africa Squad for final two Tests: Faf du Plessis (c), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock (wk), Theunis de Bruyn, AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Willem Mulder, Lungisani Ngidi, Duanne Olivier, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada.