South Africa recall Jacques Rudolph for Australia Test series

Jacques Rudolph has played in 35 Tests but his most recent appearance was against Sri Lanka in 2006 Getty Images

Johannesburg: Oct 22, 2011

Left-handed batsman Jacques Rudolph was on Saturday recalled to the South African Test squad for a two-match series against Australia next month.

Two uncapped players, leg-spinner Imran Tahir and all-rounder Vernon Philander, were named in the 14-man squad for the series which starts in Cape Town on November 9. The second match will be in Johannesburg from November 17.

Selection convener Andrew Hudson said Rudolph would open the batting with captain Graeme Smith. “His experience and current form make him an asset to the Proteas and at the age of 30 he has plenty of good years of cricket ahead of him.”

Rudolph has played in 35 Tests but his most recent appearance was against Sri Lanka in 2006. He then lost his place and opted for a Kolpak contract with English county Yorkshire.

Since returning to South Africa at the end of his contract Rudolph has been in prolific form. He was the leading scorer in the domestic four- day competition last season and has been in prolific form this season, hitting 568 runs in three matches at an average of 94.66 with a double century, a century and three fifties.

Pakistan leg-spinner Tahir qualified for South Africa at the beginning of the year and was one of South Africa’s outstanding bowlers at the 2011 Cricket World Cup. His selection in the Test side was widely expected, although the current spin bowling incumbent, left-armer Paul Harris, is also in the squad.

Pace bowler Philander topped the domestic four-day bowling averages in the past two seasons. The squad includes batsman AB de Villiers who is recovering from a broken hand. He will have to pass a fitness Test.(AFP)

South African squad:

Graeme Smith (c), AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher (wk), JP Duminy, Paul Harris, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Morne Morkel, Vernon Philander, Ashwell Prince, Jacques Rudolph, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe