South Africa win toss, elect to bat against Pakistan in first Test at Johannesburg

South African skipper Graeme Smith will play his 100th Test as captain when his side take on Pakistan  © Getty Images

Johannesburg: Feb 1, 2013

South Africa captain Graeme Smith won the toss and elected to bat in the first Test against Pakistan at Johannesburg on Friday.

This Test marks South African skipper’s 100th Test as captain and Pakistan’s first Test match in six months.

The visiting side is led by Misbah-ul-Haq who has expressed that this series could be his toughest challenge yet.

While Pakistan look to establish their mark in Test cricket, South Africa will hope to continue their winning ways in the longest format of the game.


South Africa: Graeme Smith (c), Alviro Petersen, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers(wk), Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel

Pakistan: Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq(c), Asad Shafiq, Sarfraz Ahmed(wk), Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan, Rahat Ali

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the first Test between South Africa and Pakistan here