South Africa win toss, elect to bowl in 2nd ODI

The start of the match has been delayed due to rains at East London Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

East London: Jan 14, 2012

South African captain AB de Villiers has won the toss and elected to field first in the second One-Day International at Buffalo ark in East London.

Sri Lanka register their lowest-ever total of 43 runs in an ODI, during the first match at the Boland Park in Paarl.

Replying to a South Africa’s total of 301 for eight, Sri Lanka lost their first six wickets for 13 runs before being bundled out for 43, their lowest ODI score. In fact, South Africa’s victory margin of 258 runs was the third biggest in the history of one-dayers.

Forty-three is the fourth lowest total in the history of all ODIs and Sri Lanka’s worst since they were skittled out for 55 against Clive Lloyd’s West Indian side in 1986 in Sharjah.


South Africa: Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers (c & wk), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Albie Morkel, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabe Tsotsobe.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan (c), Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Kosala Kulasekara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath, Dhammika Prasad.