Angele Mathews will be hoping for a better show from his boys in the ODIs © Getty Images (File Photo)
Angele Mathews will be hoping for a better show from his boys in the ODIs © Getty Images (File Photo)

Sri Lanka announced their squad for the One-Day Internationals (ODIs) as they take on Ireland for a short series of two matches followed by a five-match series against England, starting from July 21st. Milinda Siriwardana, Sri Lanka all-rounder has been dropped from the ODI squad for the series against Ireland and England as confirmed by team manager, Charith Senanayake, soon after the conclusion of the final Test between England and Sri Lanka. The selectors had previously revealed that Farveez Maharoof, Upul Tharanga, Seekkuge Prasanna, Danushka Gunathilaka and Suraj Randiv would be joining the squad for the ODIs and the one-off Twenty20 International (T20I) against England.  LIVE CRICKET SCORECARD: England  vs  Sri Lanka , 3rd Test match at Lord’s

According to, it has now been confirmed that Siriwardana, alongside Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Niroshan Dickwella and Dilruwan Perera from the Test squad would be making way for the five new players in the 15-man squad.

Even though Siriwardana hit 66, 12 and a quickfire 39 in Sri Lanka’s previous ODI assignment against New Zealand, he has faced the axe after a disappointing World T20 campaign in India where he not only failed in taking a single wicket but also scored just 22 runs in three innings.

Sri Lanka will travel to Dublin first to play a short series against Ireland and will like to rectify their mistakes and gain some momentum before they face a tougher opponent in England in the ODI series in one week’s time.

Sri Lanka squad: Angelo Mathews (C), Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Upul Tharanga, Dhananjaya de Silva, Shaminda Eranga, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal, Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Farveez Maharoof, Suraj Randiv, Seekkuge Prasanna