Sri Lanka's provicial champions may play in Champions League T20 2013

Six teams have directly qualified for the tournament © AFP

New Delhi: Jul 24, 2013 

With the second edition of Sri Lankan Premier League (SLPL) being cancelled after the franchises failed to pay up their fees, the organizers of the Champions League Twenty20 are yet to name the team from the island that will take part in the tournament starting September 21.

“Only one Sri Lankan team has been admitted to the qualifier. We are currently working through the process to identify the suitable team to represent SLC,” Matthew Slade, Corporate Communications Manager of Cricket Australia and a member of the organizing committee told PTI.

According to reliable sources, Sri Lanka’s provincial T20 champions might get an entry into the tournament due to cancellation of SLPL.

AS of now, the six teams that have directly qualified for the tournament are Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Lions, Perth Scorchers, Chennai Super Kings, Brisbane Heat, Titans and Trinidad & Tobago.