Sri Lanka win toss, elect to bat in first Test against England at Galle

Sri Lanka will aim for complete domination against England at Galle Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Galle: Mar 26, 2012

Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and elected to bat against England in their first Test match at Galle on Monday.

Sri Lanka will follow Pakistan’s lead and confront England with spin when the two-Test series starts in the coastal town of Galle on Monday.

England, the world’s number one Test side, crashed to an embarrassing 3-0 series whitewash to Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates in January and February.

Off-spinner Saeed Ajmal caused the maximum damage with 24 wickets, while left-arm slow bowler Abdur Rehman took 19 as England struggled on the slow wickets in Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

Mahela Jayawardene, returning as Sri Lanka’s captain in a Test match for the first time since 2009, hopes his spinners will also inflict damage on the tourists in helpful conditions.

“We have an attack that can trouble the best on our wickets,” said Jayawardene, who replaced Tillakaratne Dilshan as skipper after the tour of South Africa earlier this year.


Sri Lanka: Lahiru Thirimanne, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene (c), Kumar Sangakkara, Thilan Samaraweera, Dinesh Chandimal, Prasanna Jayawardene (wk), Suraj Randiv, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Chanaka Welegedara.

England: Andrew Strauss (c), Alastair Cook, Jonathan Trott, Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Matt Prior (wk), Samit Patel, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Monty Panesar.

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the first day’s play here