Sri Lanka’s PM office receives info on ‘possible terrorist threat’ against the national team set to tour Pakistan
A high-level security delegation member of Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) secretary Mohan De Silva (2R) visits the National Cricket Stadium in Karachi on August 7, 2019 (AFP PHOTO)

Sri Lanka‘s cricket board said Wednesday it had received warnings its national team could be the target of a terror attack during an upcoming tour of Pakistan.

Sri Lankan Prime Minister’s Office had received “reliable information of a possible terrorist threat” against the national squad ahead of the six-match limited overs tour, the board said.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) stopped short of calling off the tour, but said a reassessment of the security situation would be sought from Sri Lankan government authorities.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said it was not aware of any information relating to the safety of the Sri Lankan team, but reiterated its committment to provide security.

ALSO READ: Sri Lanka’s tour of Pakistan in jeopardy after warning of possible terrorist threat

“We have seen the SLC statement, but are not privy to any information or intelligence report relating to safety of the SL team,” the PCB said on Twitter.

ALSO READ: Shoaib Akhtar disappointed with Sri Lanka players who opted out of Pakistan tour

“The PCB reiterates its commitment to provide complete safety and security to the SL side and in this relation will continue to work with the SLC.”

ALSO READ: Lahiru Thirimanne named Sri Lanka ODI captain for Pakistan tour, Dasun Shanaka to lead T20I side

The Sri Lanka team was the target of an attack during a Test match in Pakistan’s Lahore in March 2009. Six Sri Lankan players were injured when gunmen attacked their bus. Six Pakistan policemen and two civilians were killed.

Ten senior players have already opted out of the tour citing security concerns.

Sri Lanka played one T20 match against Pakistan at Lahore in October 2017.

The latest statement from Sri Lanka Cricket came a short while after the board announced two squads for the three One-Day Internationals and the three T20 matches starting September 27.

Since the 2009 attack, a majority of international teams have refused to tour the South Asian country.