Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Round 3 Group A

Delhi beat Jammu and Kashmir by four wickets in a thrilling contest for their second win of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 in Vijayawada on Sunday.

Lalit Yadav was the star of the show as his unbeaten 47 off 28 helped Delhi overhaul the target of 190 with a delivery to spare.

The tense chase saw J&K bowlers landing regular blows as Delhi lost openers Hiten Dalal and Unmukt Chand in consecutive deliveries. Dalal led a rollicking start, hitting five sixes to zoom to 32 off 11 before holing out to Rasikh Salam off Waseem Raza.

Unmukt was run out off the very next delivery with Delhi’s score stationary at 41. Dhruv Shorey also frittered away the start after hitting three fours in his 8-ball 13.

Anuj Rawat (45 off 36) and Nitish Rana stabilised the innings, adding 31 runs for the fourth wicket. However, J&K kept finding wickets leaving Delhi 138/6 in 16.2 overs.

Needing 52 to win off 22 deliveries, Lalit took the lead, hitting seven fours and a while Pawan Negi scored an unbeaten 15 off 7 as Delhi made 191/6 for their second of the season.

Earlier, J&K were off to a bad start losing two wickets inside the Powerplay overs before recovering through Jatin Wadhwan and Shubham Pundir.

Both scored half-centuries each. Wadhwan hit 57 off 33 while Pundir top-scored with 68 off 44. Allrounder Irfan Pathan provided the late push with three sixes in his 13-ball 26* to power them to a challenging total. Suboth Bhati was the pick of Delhi bowlers, returning figures of 3/26.

Brief Scores: Delhi 191/6 (Lalit Yadav 47*, Anuj Rawat 45; Mujtaba Yousuf 1/33) beat Jammu and Kashmir (Shubham Khajuria 68, Jatin Wadhwan 57; Suboth Bhati 3/26) by four wickets