Amit Verma s unbeaten hundred (109 not out off 58 balls) went in vain as Madhya Pradesh beat Goa in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 in Indore on Wednesday.

In what was a high-scoring Group C encounter, Goa scored 196 after electing to bat at the Emerald High School Ground. The Amogh Desai-led side did not really enjoy a bright star after it lost the openers with only thirteen runs on the board. Keenan Vaz and Verma then steadied the innings with 66-run stand before Parth Sahani dismissed Vaz in the eleventh over.

Suyash Prabhudessai then joined Verma and the two scored 117 runs in 55 balls, with Prabhudessai scoring unbeaten 46 off 26 balls and Verma notching up a ton.

While Abhishek Bhandari and skipper Rajat Patidar could not do much with the bat, Naman Ojha scored 36 off 20 balls. However, it was the performance of the Madhya Pradesh middle-order that proved pivotal. Parth Sahani, who hit 7 fours and 3 sixes, was the top-scorer for the MP, scoring 68 off 38 balls.

Rishabh Chouhan (28 off 18 balls), Venkatesh Iyer (24 not out off 15 balls) and Ishwar Pandey (18 not out off 7 balls) then chipped in with crucial contributions as Madhya Pradesh won the game with 4 wickets in hand and 2 balls to spare.

Brief scores: Madhya Pradesh 197/6 (Parth Sahani 68, Naman Ojha 36; Felix Alemao 2/25) beat Goa 196/3 (Amit Verma 109*, Suyash Prabhudessai 46*; Ishwar Pandey 2/26) by 4 wickets