The Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy will commence on March 17, 2013 on a Sunday © Getty Images

New Delhi: Mar 16, 2013

The fifth edition of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, the Inter-state domestic T20 competition beginning on Sunday, will be played at 10 different venues, the BCCI announced on Saturday.

The tournament will be played in the league-cum-knockout format.

The zonal venues are as follows:

North Zone: Ch. Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium, Lahli, TERI Oval, Gurgaon

South Zone: Jawaharlal Nehru National College of Engineering, Shimoga, Prerana Education Society, Information and Technology, Shimoga, Vishveshwariah Iron and Steel Limited, Bhadravati

East Zone: Tripura Institute of Technology (Polytechnic Ground), Narsingarh, Maharaja Bir Bikram Stadium, Agartala

West Zone: Sardar Patel Gujarat Stadium, Motera A and B grounds – Ahmedabad

Central Zone: VCA Stadium, Civil Lines, Nagpur

The All-India knockout, featuring the top two teams from each zone, will be played at Ranchi from 25 March 2013 to 31 March 2013.