Shamsi has taken 3 wickets in four matches for RCB in IPL 2016 Photo Courtesy: Twitter
Shamsi has taken 3 wickets in four matches for RCB in IPL 2016 Photo Courtesy: Twitter

Tabraiz Shamsi is set to earn his first Proteas cap, as Cricket South Africa have chosen the spinner for the upcoming triangular series against West Indies and Australia. Shamsi, 26, is currently plying his trade with Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2016, where he replaced West Indian Samuel Badree, who was ruled out of the tournament through injury. He rose to prominence in the 2015 Caribbean Premier League, where he took 11 wickets at an average of 13.27 from seven matches. His stature grew further as he took 41 wickets at an average of 19.97 for Titans in their title winning season. ALSO READ: IPL 2016: Learnt a lot from Brad Hogg, says RCB’s Tabraiz Shamsi

Speaking about Shamsi’s selection, CSA selection committee convener Linda Zondi said, “We have opted for three specialist spinners as we anticipate the pitches in the Caribbean to be on the slow side. Tabraiz has certainly earned his call-up following outstanding form both in our domestic cricket and in some of the major domestic T20 leagues including the Caribbean Premier League.”

“He has shown what he can do in the T20 leagues against international batsmen. I am quite excited about the state of our spin bowling and the variety we have. We are sending two wrist spinners to the Caribbean plus left-arm and right-arm finger spin options. Spin bowling is becoming an increasingly important part of both limited overs formats and we are only just over a year away from the ICC Champions Trophy Tournament in England.”

South Africa are set to visit Caribbean for a triangular series against host West Indies and Australia. Dale Steyn has been rested for the series with upcoming Test series’ in mind. Faf du Plessis has been selected in the squad despite having a injury, and Wayne Parnell, who hasn’t featured for national side since 2015 World Cup, has also been recalled.

South Africa ODI squad: AB de Villiers (capt), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi.