© Getty Images
© Getty Images

In Eliminator of ongoing Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2017, Lyca Kovai Kings beat Karaikudi Kaalai by 4 wickets to go ahead in the tournament. They will now face Chepauk Super Gillies in Qualifier 2 ahead of the finale, which already features TUTI Patriots. On the other hand, it is the end of the road for Kaalai in the second edition by virtue of this defeat.

Opting to bowl, Kings got rid of Vishal Vaidhya early. Nonetheless, Srikanth Anirudha carried on from his end. He was in a punishing mode and took on the bowlers. His innings of 79, off 36 ball, comprised of 19 fours and 5 sixes. Anirudha was given good support from the middle order in form of V Aditya, Subramanium Badrinath and M Shajahan. Badrinath and Shajahan remained unbeaten and took the team total to 193 for 3, while Kings’ bowling remained ineffective. Only B Arun remained economical at 6.5 per over.

In reply, chasing 194, Kings were reduced to 30 for 2. Mohan Prasath’s twin strikes dented Kings’ progress. With captain Murali Vijay‘s run-out at 34, the writing seemed to be on the wall. Nonetheless, Ravi Kumar Rohith continued to fight till the end. He got minimal support with others perishing after starts. He, however, changed gears and took the game till the penultimate over. Barring R Rajkumar and Prasath, Kaalai’s bowlers leaked runs at will and failed to curb Rohith. In the end, he managed to hold his nerves and steered his side to an emphatic 4-wicket victory.

Brief scores:

Karaikudi Kaalai 193 for 3 in 20 overs (Srikanth Anirudha 79, S Badrinath 42*, M Shajahan 25*; B Arun 1 for 25) lost to Lyca Kovai Kings 194 for 6 in 19 overs (Murali Vijay 34, Ravi Kumar Rohith 102*; Mohan Prasath 2 for 18, Sonu Yadav 2 for 35) by 4 wickets.