TNPL 2019: Dindigul Dragons beat defending champions Madurai Panthers to reach second straight final
Dindigul Dragons after their win over Madurai Panthers in Qualifier 2. © TNPL

Dindigul Dragons have confirmed their place in the Tamil Nadu Premier League 2019 (TNPL) final, after their openers Hari Nishaanth and N Jagadeesan hit half-centuries to set up a 45-run win over defending champions Madurai Panthers in Qualifier 2 on Tuesday.

This sets up a summit clash with Chepauk Super Gillies in Chennai on Thursday.

Batting first, Panthers were given a strong start from Nishaanth (51 off 46 balls) and Jagadeesan (50 off 48) who put on 101 in 14.4 overs. Jagadeesan – leading Panthers in place of the rested R Ashwin – hit four fours an a six in his innings.

(READ: Madurai Panthers clinch last-ball thriller to make it to Qualifier 2)

After a brief wobble, NS Chaturvedi hit 35 off 13 balls, with four sixes, and pace bowler M Mohammed laced three sixes in his nine-ball 32 that helped Panthers end with 175/6.

Chasing 176, Panthers lost KB Arun Karthik and the captain Shijit Chandran inside the Powerplay, after which only J Kousik (41 off 30) really threatened damage. Madurai were bowled out for 130 in 19.5 overs, with Ramalingam Rohit (3/20), M Silambasaran (3/18) and offspinner Mohan Abhinav (2/18) the chief wicket-takers.

Brief scores: Dindigul Dragons 175/6 in 20 overs (Nishaanth 51, Jagadeesan 50) beat Madurai Panthers 130 in 19.5 ovs (Kousik 40, Silambarasan 3/18, Rohit 3/20) by 45 runs