This was Tom Blundell's debut Test for New Zealand    Getty Images
This was Tom Blundell’s debut Test for New Zealand Getty Images

With regular wicketkeeper BJ Watling out of the series, New Zealand selectors banked on Tom Blundell to come good with the bat. On day three of the first Test, Blundell became the first New Zealand wicketkeeper-batsmen to score a century on debut.

He is overall the 105th player to achieve this feat and only the fifth wicketkeeper-batsmen after Umar Akmal, Matt Prior, Brendon Kuruppu and Romesh Kaluwitharana. Blundell, who played his school cricket just a throw away from Basin Reserve, surpassed Luke Ronchi s record. Ronchi had scored 88 on his debut Test against England at Leeds.

It must be noted that Ronchi and Brendon McCullum were the only two wicketkeepers to have scored a fifty or above on debut.

Player Runs Team Opposition Ground Season Notes
Charles Bannerman 165* Australia England MCG 1876-77 First Test ever
WG Grace 152 England Australia The Oval 1880
Harry Graham 107 Australia England Lord’s 1893
KS Ranjitsinhji 154* England Australia Old Trafford 1896
Plum Warner 132* England South Africa Old Wanderers 1898-99
Reggie Duff 104 Australia England MCG 1901-02
Tip Foster 287 England Australia SCG 1903-04 Highest Test score at that point
George Gunn 119 England Australia SCG 1906-07
Roger Hartigan 116 Australia England Adelaide Oval 1907-08
Herbie Collins 104 Australia England SCG 1920-21
Bill Ponsford 110 Australia England SCG 1924-25
Archie Jackson 164 Australia England Adelaide Oval 1928-29
George Headley 176 West Indies England Kensington Oval 1929-30
Jackie Mills 117 New Zealand England Wellington 1929-30
Nawab of Pataudi Sr 102 England Australia SCG 1932-33
Bryan Valentine 136 England India Bombay Gymkhana 1933-34
Lala Amarnath 118 India England
Paul Gibb 106 England South Africa Old Wanderers 1938-39
Billy Griffith 140 England West Indies Queen’s Park Oval 1947-48
Andy Ganteaume 112 West Indies England Only Test
Jim Burke 101* Australia England Adelaide Oval 1950-51
Peter May 138 England South Africa Headingley 1951
Deepak Shodhan 110 India Pakistan Eden Gardens 1952-53
Bruce Pairaudeau 115 West Indies India Queen’s Park Oval 1952-53
Collie Smith 104 West Indies Australia Sabina Park 1954-55
Kripal Singh 100* India New Zealand Hyderabad (India) 1955-56
Conrad Hunte 142 West Indies Pakistan Kensington Oval 1957-58
Arthur Milton 104* England New Zealand Headingley 1958
Abbas Ali Baig 112 India England Old Trafford 1959
Hanumant Singh 105 India England Kotla 1963-64
Billy Ibadulla 166 Pakistan Australia Karachi 1964-65
Bruce Taylor 105 New Zealand India Eden Gardens 1964-65
Doug Walters 155 Australia England The Gabba 1965-66
Joh’n Hampshire 107 England West Indies Lord’s 1969
Gundappa Viswanath 137 India Australia Green Park 1969-70
Greg Chappell 108 Australia England WACA 1970-71
Lawrence Rowe 214 West Indies New Zealand Sabina Park 1971-72 Hundred in each innings
Alvin Kallicharran 100* West Indies New Zealand Bourda 1971-72
Rodney Redmond 107 New Zealand Pakistan Eden Park 1972-73
Frank Hayes 106* England West Indies The Oval 1973
Gordon Greenidge 107 West Indies India Chinnaswamy 1974-75
Len Baichan 105* West Indies Pakistan Lahore 1974-75
Gary Cosier 109 Australia West Indies MCG 1975-76
Surinder Amarnath 124 India New Zealand Eden Park 1975-76
Javed Miandad 163 Pakistan New Zealand Lahore 1976-77
Basil Williams 100 West Indies Australia Bourda 1977-78
Dirk Wellham 103 Australia England The Oval 1981
Saleem Malik 100* Pakistan Sri Lanka Karachi 1981-82
Kepler Wessels 162 Australia England The Gabba 1982-83
Wayne Phillips 159 Australia Pakistan WACA 1983-84
Mohammad Azharuddin 110 India England Eden Gardens 1984-85
Brendon Kuruppu 201* Sri Lanka New Zealand Colombo CCC 1987
Mark Greatbatch 107* New Zealand England Eden Park 1987-88
Mark Waugh 138 Australia England Adelaide Oval 1990-91
Andrew Hudson 163 South Africa West Indies Bourda 1992
Romesh Kaluwitharana 132* Sri Lanka Australia SSC 1992
Dave Houghton 121 Zimbabwe India Harare 1992-93 First Test for Zimbabwe
Pravin Amre 103 India South Africa Kingsmead 1992-93
Graham Thorpe 114* England Australia Trent Bridge 1993
Greg Blewett 102* Australia England Adelaide Oval 1994-95
Sourav Ganguly 131 India England Lord’s 1996
Mohammad Wasim 109* Pakistan New Zealand Lahore 1996-97
Ali Naqvi 115 Pakistan South Africa Rawalpindi 1997 Both in same innings
Azhar Mahmood 128*
Mathew Sinclair 214 New Zealand West Indies Wellington 1999-00
Younis Khan 107 Pakistan Sri Lanka Rawalpindi 1999-00
Aminul Islam 145 Bangladesh India Bangabandhu 2000-01 First Test for Bangladesh
Hamilton Masakadza 119 Zimbabwe West Indies Harare 2001
Thilan Samaraweera 103* Sri Lanka India SSC 2001
Taufeeq Umar 104 Pakistan Bangladesh Multan 2001
Mohammad Ashraful 114 Bangladesh Sri Lanka SSC 2001
Virender Sehwag 105 India South Africa Bloemfontein 2001-02
Lou Vincent 104 New Zealand Australia WACA 2001-02
Scott Styris 107 New Zealand West Indies St George’s 2002
Jacques Rudolph 222* South Africa Bangladesh Chittagong 2003
Yasir Hameed 170 Pakistan Bangladesh Karachi 2003 Hundred in each innings
Dwayne Smith 105* West Indies South Africa Newlands 2003-04
Andrew Strauss 112 England New Zealand Lord’s 2004
Michael Clarke 151 Australia India Chinnaswamy 2004
Alastair Cook 104* England India Nagpur 2005-06
Matt Prior 126* England West Indies Lord’s 2007
Marcus North 117 Australia South Africa New Wanderers 2008-09
Fawad Alam 168 Pakistan Sri Lanka Premadasa 2009
Jonathan Trott 119 England Australia The Oval 2009
Umar Akmal 129 Pakistan New Zealand Dunedin 2009-10
Adrian Barath 104 West Indies Australia The Gabba 2009-10
Alviro Petersen 100 South Africa India Eden Gardens 2009-10
Suresh Raina 120 India Sri Lanka SSC 2010
Kane Williamson 131 New Zealand India Motera 2010-11
Kirk Edwards 110 West Indies India Roseau 2011
Shaun Marsh 141 Australia Sri Lanka Pallekele 2011
Abul Hasan 113 Bangladesh West Indies Khulna 2012-13
Faf du Plessis 110* South Africa Australia Adelaide Oval 2012-13
Hamish Rutherford 171 New Zealand England Dunedin 2013
Shikhar Dhawan 187 India Australia Mohali 2013
Rohit Sharma 177 India West Indies Eden Gardens 2013-14
Jimmy Neesham 137* New Zealand India Wellington 2013-14
Stiaan van Zyl 101* South Africa West Indies Centurion 2014-15
Adam Voges 130* Australia West Indies Roseau 2015
Stephen Cook 115 South Africa England Centurion 2015-16
Keaton Jennings 112 England India Wankhede 2016-17
Tom Blundell 107* New Zealand West Indies Christchruch 2017-18

Blundell was also New Zealand s 11th player to score a century on debut. His century came in 178 balls, including 13 fours. Blundell remained unbeaten on 107*, as Kane Williamson declared New Zealand s innings on 520 for 9, taking a 386-run lead over West Indies.