Trinidad & Tobago's batting firepower among strongest in Caribbean Premier League: Gordon Greenidge

The first edition of Caribbean Premier League will be held in July-August this year © AFP

Port-of-Spain (Trinidad): Jun 12, 2013

Gordon Greenidge, coach of the Trinidad team for the inaugural Caribbean Premier League (CPL), says its batting lineup is one of the strongest in the tournament.

The Trinidad franchise includes ace New Zealander Ross Taylor as its international franchise player with T and T’s Darren Bravo, Kevon Cooper and Adrian Barath, Australia’s Aaron Finch and Ireland’s Kevin O’Brien in its ranks.

Finch has an impressive T20 average of 35.32 with a highest score of 111 not out while Darren (34.87) and his brother Dwayne (28.26) are also dependable with the bat.

Taylor averages 30.02 with a highest score of 111 not out while O’Brien has also scored a century in the shortest format of the game.

“It’s a lineup that is as strong as any of the other teams in the tournament,” Greenidge declared.

“It’s strong enough but we can’t leave it up to anybody else to get the job done (when we’re batting). If we do what we’re supposed to do, then we can put up a competitive score consistently”.

The franchise is captained by Dwayne Bravo, the highest wicket-taker in this year’s edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

While Bravo will be supported by Bajan pacer Fidel Edwards, spinner Samuel Badree and left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn, the former West Indies opening batsman has conceded that the franchise is a quality bowler short.

“We could have done with one more main strike bowler but we have to do with what we’ve got. It could have been worse but it could have been better,” said Greenidge.

“Sometimes you have a good attack and on the day (of the match) it doesn’t work so it’s all about the luck of the draw”.

Greenidge has admitted that last Wednesday’s player auction did not turn out exactly as the Trinidad franchise had planned as players they had targeted were snapped up by other franchises.

Trinidad and Tobago squad:

Dwayne Bravo (c), Ross Taylor, Darren Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Aaron Finch, Samuel Badree, Kevon Cooper, Kevin O’Brien, Sulieman Benn, Adrian Barath, Delorn Johnson, Nicholas Pooran, Yannick Cariah, Miguel Cummins and Justin Guillen