Vidarbha concluded a memorable Ranji Trophy 2017-18 by clinching their maiden title, beating Delhi by 9 wickets. Pitted against seven-time winners in their first ever final appearance, Vidarbha displayed an all-round show to bring the opposition on the mat, and seal the finale inside four days. Twitteratti came together to wish the newly-crowned Ranji champions. The summit clash was played at Holkar stadium, Indore.


This is also the second time that an underdog side has won Ranji Championship at Indore in as many years. Gujarat had won in 2016-17. Talking about statistics, Vidarbha’s Rajneesh Gurbani who claimed a hat-trick in the final ended the season as the second highest wicket-taker (39). Vidarbha skipper Faiz Fazal accounted for 912 runs, his opening partner Sanjay Ramaswamy amassed 775 runs. They, in turn, claimed the second and third spots respectively in most runs scored in the just-concluded edition.

Jaffer, who is leading the charts with most runs in Ranji Trophy history, had a good season with the willow. He scored 595 runs at 54.09, that includes 1 hundred and 3 half-centuries. He chipped in with vital contributions, apart from Vidarbha coach Chandrakant Pandit instilling the ‘winning feeling’ among the camp.