×

U19 WC 2024: ICC rule that stopped Pakistan from entering into Final

Pakistan would have had a fielder at fine leg and the winning boundary would have only been a single if they had not broken the over-rate rule.

Pakistan U19 Team. Source: (Cricket Country)

In the event that Pakistan had defeated Australia, India and its bitter rival would have faced off in a second final of the ICC U19 World Cup. In the Under-19 World Cup semifinal match against Australia on Thursday night at Willowmoore Park in Benoni, Pakistan captain Saad Baig was a busy man, continually switching up his bowlers and altering his fields. It was rewarded with Pakistan storming back, led by Ali Raza’s four-wicket haul, but it had an unforeseen effect prior to the start of the last over, when the side required to win by defending four runs or taking one wicket. Pakistan lost by one wicket and missed the chance to get a date with India for the championship match as a result of Baig’s compliance with the new ICC regulation.

Also watch:

Ravindra Jadeja’s father viral interview

Having previously introduced the penalty for slow over rates in T20I cricket, ICC had established an in-match penalty rule in ODIs in late 2022. According to the rule, for every over the fielding team falls short of the agreed cut-off time for the innings, after considering time allowances into play, they ought to have an extra fielder inside the ring. For example, if a team completes 48 overs within the scheduled cessation time of the innings, then they will have an extra fielder inside the circle for the last two overs, leaving only four fielders outside the ring.

Pakistan had to field one extra fielder on Thursday, bringing fine leg into the ring, since they finished their 49 overs ahead of the planned cut-off time. Australia’s No. 8 Raf MacMilllan got an inside edge against a length ball outside off from Mohammad Zeeshan in the opening ball of the final over, and the ball went past short fine leg for a boundary.

While providing analysis, former West Indies cricketer Ian Bishop stated that Pakistan would have had a fielder at fine leg and the winning boundary would have only been a single if they had not broken the over-rate rule.

trending this week