Top run aggregator for UAE in ODIs Shaiman Anwar © Getty Images (File Picture)
Top run aggregator for UAE in ODIs Shaiman Anwar © Getty Images (File Picture)

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) have announced their squad for Asia Cup Qualifier to be held later this month where they will compete against Malaysia, Hong Kong, Nepal, Oman and Singapore in their bid to secure their place in the 2018 Asia Cup. The Asia Cup 2018 will be played in the UAE in September.

Rohan Mustafa will captain the side in the Qualifier, which will take place between August 29 and September 6 in Malaysia.

Waleed Bukhatir, Emirates Cricket Board member and chief selector said: “Securing our place to compete in the 2018 Asia Cup, which is being hosted on home-soil, is of the utmost importance. Our players and the coaching team have been exceptionally committed to their training throughout the summer, and we are confident they will put forward a winning performance and secure the remaining place in the Asia Cup.”

Youngsters Rahul Bhatia and Fahad Nawaz who were part of the Under-19 team have been included in the senior squad. While it’s Bhatia’s first call-up to the senior side, Nawaz was part of the squad that played in April’s pre-Asian World Twenty20 qualifiers.

UAE squad for Asia Cup Qualifier:

Rohan Mustafa (C), Ashfaq Ahmed, Chirag Suri, Rameez Shahzad, Muhammad Usman, Adnan Mufti, Shaiman Anwar, Ahmed Raza, Imran Haider, Muhammad Naveed, Amir Hayat, Abdul Shakhoor, Rahul Bhatia, Fahad Nawaz and Zahoor Khan