Hardik Pandya was saved by the rules    Getty Images
Hardik Pandya was saved by the rules Getty Images

The spectators of the second ODI between India and Australia were left confused as the covers came out at Eden Gardens following drizzle. It was the dismissal, or an attempt for dismissal, that created a lot of drama at the ground. It was the third ball of the 48th over. Kane Richardson bowled a waist-high full toss, which Hardik Pandya whacked to cover. Steven Smith grabbed an easy catch, and he and his team were sure they got their man. Pandya, thinking that he is out, walked away from his stumps.

But drama followed after this. Smith, after repeated unsuccessful appeals for dismissal of Pandya, threw the ball straight to Richardson, who dislodged the bails. Smith demanded a run out in that case, when it started raining and the umpires asked for the covers to come out.

The Law 27.7 in the rulebook of cricket says, Batsman leaving his wicket under a misapprehension: An umpire shall intervene if satisfied that a batsman, not having been given out, has left his wicket under a misapprehension that he is out. The umpire intervening shall call and signal Dead ball to prevent any further action by the fielding side and shall recall the batsman.

The rule saved Pandya as umpire Anil Chowdhary time and again denied Smith s appeal, even after the covers were out. After play resumed, India scored 252 in 50 overs.

India lead the series 1-0 with a victory in Chennai.