Vidarbha claim second successive Irani Cup on first-innings lead against Rest of India

Set a target of 280 on the final day, Vidarbha batted exceedingly well to reach 269/5 before finishing their innings with 11 runs adrift of the target

Related articles

Rest of India skipper Ajinkya Rahane was left to rue a bold declaration on day four that set Vidarbha a target of 280 on the final day and the Ranji Trophy 2018-19 champions batted exceedingly well to reach 269/5 before finishing their innings with 11 runs adrift of the target. However, the Faiz Fazal-led side claimed their second straight Irani Cup on the basis of first-innings lead at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Jamtha, Nagpur on Saturday.

Vidarbha had bowled out ROI for 330 in the first innings, before taking a 95-run lead courtesy No.8 batsman Akshay Karnewar’s 102 helping Vidarbha to 425.

ROI declared their second innings at 374/3 riding on Hanuma Vihari’s unbeaten 180 and 87 and 61 from Rahane and Shreyas Iyer, respectively.

Rahane’s ROI had to force the game after conceding the lead and a target of 280 on a turning Jamtha track would have had been a tricky ask for the Vidarbha line-up with no Wasim Jaffer.  

They lost skipper Fazal in the first over to UP’s Ankit Rajpoot but Vidarbha’s batting came to fore with Sanjay Raghunath and young Atharva Taide putting on 116 runs for the second wicket.

While Raghunath made 42 off 171 balls before falling to Rahul Chahar, Taide made 72 off 185 balls. He too fell to Chahar. But, Vidarbha’s outstation player Ganesh Satish anchored the chase, adding 83 runs for the fourth wicket with Mohit Kale (37). Kale departed to Surashtra’s Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, but Satish motored along and made 87 before falling to Vihari. With that, both captains mutually agreed to call of the game, with Vidarbha winning the Irani Cup 2018-19 on the basis of first-innings lead.

Brief Scores: Vidarbha 425 (Akshat Karnewar 102, Akshay Wadkar 73; Rahul Chahar 4/112) & 269/5 (Ganesh Satish 87, Atharva Taide 72; Rahul Chahar 2/116) beat Rest of India 330 (Hanuma Vihari 114, Mayank Agarwal 95; Akshay Wakhare 3/62) & 374/3d (Hanuma Vihari 180*, Ajinkya Rahane 87; Aditya Sarwate 2/141) on the basis of first-inning lead.

trending this week