Getty Images (Representational Image )
This was Vidarbha’s maiden u19 Cooch Behar Title win Getty Images (Representational Image )

New Delhi: After winning their maiden Ranji Trophy title earlier this season, Vidarbha cricketers continued their excellent run to clinch their maiden Cooch Behar Under19 Trophy on Wednesday. Emulating the impressive performance of the senior side, the U19 team beat Madhya Pradesh on the basis of first innings lead in the final held at Nagpur.

Captain and opener Atharva Taide led from the front, striking 320 (483b, 34×4, 1×6) to power Vidarbha to a massive 614 in reply to Madhya Pradesh’s first innings total of 289 all out. With a mammoth 325-run lead, Vidarbha ensured they did not bat again and reduced the Madya Pradesh side to 176/7 in their second innings.

Vidarbha’s Darshan Nalkande took four wickets in the first innings while P.R. Rekhade took three in the second innings.

Earlier, Vidarbha senior side pitted against seven-time winners, Delhi, in their first ever Ranji final appearance, displayed an all-round show to bring the opposition on the mat, and seal the finale inside four days.