After being put in to bat, Bangladesh were off to flier with Liton Das and makeshift opener Mehidy Hasan adding 120 runs for the opening wicket. However, India struck back with quick strikes picking up four wickets for just 19 runs. Kedhar Jadhav bagged two, while Yuzvendra Chahal added one.

Liton got to his maiden ODI hundred and went on to score 121 before falling to Kuldeep Yadav. Soumya Sarkar put up some resistance and made 33 off 45 as Bangladesh were all out for 222.

In reply, India lost two wickets inside the first 10 overs. Shikhar Dhawan departed for 15 while Rayudu could only manage 2. Rohit Sharma made 48 before he was picked up by Rubel Hossain. Mahmudullah trapped Dinesh Karthik in front for 37 as India were in a spot of bother at 137 for 4.

Kedar Jadhav limped off due to a hamstring injury,but Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ravindra Jadeja kept India in the hunt.

Wickets of Bhuvneshwar and Ravindra Jadeja meant the pendulum swung in favour of Bangladesh once again. Jadhav though returned and kept his cool along with Kuldeep Yadav to take India home in the last ball of the tournament.

India claimed their seventh Asia Cup title.