Vijay Hazare Trophy 2013: Assam stun Mumbai in semi-final

Assam entered the Vijay Hazare Trophy final after beating Mumbai in the semi-final by 27 runs © Getty Images

Visakhapatnam: Feb 28, 2013

Assam‘s dream run in the Vijay Hazare Trophy continued as they stunned Ranji Trophy champions Mumbai by 27 runs to enter the semi-finals of the domestic ODI tournament at Vishakapatnam on Thursday.

Chasing a paltry 179 for win, Mumbai, the last season’s runners-up, were in for a shock as their batting line-up crumbled in front of a disciplined Assam attack to be bowled out for 151 in 46.5 overs in the low-scoring quarter-final.

The day, however, started on a bright note for Mumbai as they bundled out Assam for 178 in 47.4 overs after opting to ball at the Dr Y S Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium.

Pace duo of Aavishkar Salvi (3 for 25) and Rajesh Verma (3 for 32) shared six wickets between them while left-arm spinner Iqbal Abdullah picked up two wickets to destabilise Assam’s innings.

In-form Sibsankar Roy (69) and Gokul Sharma (51) scored half-centuries apiece to take Assam to close to the 180-run mark.

Salvi’s opening burst had Assam tottering at 30 for three before Sibsankar and Gokul revived the innings with a a 92-run fifth-wicket stand.

Assam were in a decent position at 147 for four in the 40th over before their lower order crumbled like a pack of cards.

Mumbai’s chase never got going as they lost wickets at the start to be reduced to 6 for 3, and then to 39 for 4 inside the first 10 overs.

Skipper Wasim Jaffer was bowled in the first over for five by his counterpart Abu Nechim Ahmed. Rohit Sharma followed suit in the same manner in the second over for a duck to Arup Das.

Shoaib Shaikh (42) and Ankeet Chavan (36) took Mumbai past the 100-run mark but after the former’s dismissal to Gokul Sharma, Mumbai started to lose wickets at regular intervals to be eventually dismissed for 151.

Abu Nechim starred with the ball for Assam finishing with 3 for 31, while Pritam Das (2 for 24) accounted for the counter-attacking Siddhesh Lad and Chavan.

Brief Scores: Assam 178 in 47.4 overs (Sibsankar Roy 69, Gokul Sharma 51; Aavishkar Salvi 3/25, Rajesh Verma 3/32) beat Mumbai 151 in 46.5 overs (Shoaib Shaikh 42, Ankeet Chavan 36; Abu Nechim Ahmed 3/31, Pritam Das 2/24) by 27 runs