Vijay Hazare Trophy 2013: Kerala beat Hyderabad by six wickets

Rohan Prem scored 93 off 113 deliveries as Kerala defeated Hyderabad by six wickets in the Vijay Hazare Trophy © Getty Images

Vasco da Gama (Goa): Feb 14,  2013

Rohan Prem and Prasanth Parameswaran shone with the bat and ball respectively as Kerala defeated Hyderabad by six wickets in their Vijay Hazare Trophy (South Zone) match at Goa on Thursday.

After Parameswaran returned impressive figures of four for 24 to restrict Hyderabad to 192 for eight in 50 overs, Kerala rode on Prem’s 114-ball 93 to complete the match with 64 balls to spare at the at Birla Institute of Technology and Science Pilani ground.

Opting to field, Parameswaran removed three top-order batsmen to leave Hyderabad struggling at 21 for four, before Sandeep Warrier joined in the party picking up three wickets for 30 runs.

Hanuma Vihari was top batsman for Hyderabad, as he struck 81 off 121 balls. He hit four fours during his stay at the wicket.

A Ashish Reddy and Amol Shinde scored 39 each as Hyderabad tried to inch closer to the 200-mark.

In reply, Kerala found their man in Prem who held the innings together, playing sensible cricket. Prem found the fence six times and cleared it once.