Vijay Hazare Trophy 2013: Madhya Pradesh thump Uttar Pradesh by five-wickets

Madhya Pradesh restricted Uttar Pradesh to 205 for nine and then chased it down with ease © Getty Images

Indore: Feb 15, 2013

Pacers Anand Rajan and Ishwar Pandey shared six wickets between them as Madhya Pradesh registered a comfortable five-wicket win over Uttar Pradesh in their limited-overs Vijay Hazare Trophy (Central Zone) match at Indore on Friday.

Opting to field, Madhya Pradesh restricted Uttar Pradesh to 205 for nine in their alloted 50 overs, and then chased down the target in just 39.5 overs at Holkar Cricket Stadium.

Rajan picked up four for 51 while Ishwar returned with figures of two for 36. Jai Prakash Yadav and Anurag Singh snared up one wicket each for the hosts.

Madhya Pradesh’s middle-order fired in unison as Jatin Saxena top-scored with a knock of 45 while skipper Udit Birla made 44.

Apart from the duo, Harpreet Singh played a quickfire unbeaten knock of 41 in 28 balls, laced with five fours and one six, while Rameez Khan contributed 36.

For the visitors, right-arm medium fast, Imitiaz Ahmed picked up four for 65 but did not find much support from the other bowlers.

Earlier, Uttar Pradesh relied on the experience of Mohammad Kaif (55) and skipper Suresh Raina (36) to cross the 200-run mark.

While Kaif struck three fours and a six in his 73-ball stay at the crease, Raina had six hits to the fence.

The visitors struggled to score runs freely as their middle-order failed miserably against the pace of Rajan and Pandey.