Vijay Hazare Trophy 2013: Punjab thrash Harayana by 10 wickets

Haryana’s decision to bat first backfired as they were bowled out for 152 in 45.5 overs against Punjab in the Vijay Hazare Trophy © AFP

Dharamsala: Feb 13, 2013

Left-arm spinner Rajwinder Singh wrecked Haryana with four-wicket haul before openers eked out a comprehensive 10-wicket win in Punjab‘s opening North Zone leg match of the Vijay Hazare National One-Day championship at Dharamsala on Wednesday.

Haryana’s decision to bat first backfired as they were bowled out for 152 in 45.5 overs. In reply, Punjab hardly broke a sweat in getting to the total, taking just 29 overs to get there.

Rajwinder was the star of the show as he not just grabbed four wickets for a miserly 30 runs in 7.5 overs but also effected a couple of runouts.

Besides Rajwinder, Siddarth Kaul snapped up three wickets, conceding 33 runs in his 10 overs, three of which were maidens.

For Haryana, just four batsmen managed to touch double-digit figures with Rahul Dewan being the most notable contributor scoring 60 off 106 balls.

Sonu Puransingh Rathee’s 29-ball 23, including three fours, was the other notable contribution to the paltry total.

In reply, Punjab openers Ravi Inder Singh and Chandan Mohan toyed with the Haryana bowlers before guiding their team home.

Ravi smashed 70 off 94 deliveries. Ravi’s knock included eight fours and a six. Madan, on the other hand, took 80 deliveries for his 69 that included 11 fours.

Brief Scores: Haryana 153 all out in 45.5 overs (Rahul Dewan 60, Rajwinder Singh 4 for 30) lost to Punjab 153 for no loss in 29 overs (Ravi Inder Singh 70* , Chandan Mohan 69*) by 10 wickets