Vijay Hazare Trophy 2013: Rajasthan register comprehensive win over Vidarbha

Shrikant Wagh’s six for 42 went in vain as Vidarbha lost by 78 runs © Getty Images

Indore: Feb 17, 2013

Madhur Khatri and Gajendra Singh grabbed four wickets each to spun Rajasthan to a crushing 78-run victory over Vidarbha in the Central Zone leg of the Vijay Hazare Trophy One-Day Championship on Sunday.

Off-spinner Khatri (4/25) and left-arm spinner Gajendra (4/28) wrecked havoc on Vidarbha batsmen who were shot out for 130 in 43 overs while chasing 209 at the Holkar Cricket Stadium.

Right-arm pacer Gajendra chipped in with two for 14.

The pathetic show by Vidarbha batsmen rendered pacer Shrikant Wagh’s impressive six for 42 go in vain. Wagh’s fine effort was instrumental in Vidarbha shooting Rajasthan out for 208.

Chasing 209 for a win, Akshay Kolhar top-scored with 35 as Vidarbha suffered a batting collapse as they were reduced to 94 for seven in the 31st over from 62 for one in the 16th over.

Earlier, Rajasthan were 208 all out after being sent into bat with lower-order batsman Raman Chahar top-scoring with 43 while Gajendra Singh chipped in with an unbeaten 37.

Rajasthan also suffered a batting collapse and from 41 for two in the eighth over, they were reduced to 61 for six in the 15th over.

A 65-run stand for the seventh wicket between Chahar and Khatri and later a 60-run partnership for the last wicket between Gajendra and Manjeet Singh took Rajasthan to 208 all out in 46 overs.

Shrikant Wagh grabbed six wickets for 42 overs in his 10 overs. Sandeep Singh, Amol Jungade and Faiz Fazal got a wicket each.

Brief Scores: Rajasthan 208 all out in 46 overs (Raman Chahar 43; Shrikant Wagh 6 for 42) beat Vidarbha 130 all out in 43 overs (Akshay Kolhar 35; Madhur Khatri 4 for 25, Gajendra Singh 4 for 28) by 78 runs