© Getty Images (Representational Photo)
© Getty Images (Representational Photo)

New Delhi: Delhi bulldozed Tripura by eight wickets in a thoroughly one-sided Group C encounter of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2015-16 at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi on Monday. This is Delhi’s third win in four matches and the hosts are favourites to seal one of the two quarter-final spots up for grabs from this group. Currently, Delhi are second behind Maharashtra in the Group C table, with 12 points from 4 games. Maharashtra also have 12 points but have played a match less. The bowlers led by left-arm pacer Pawan Suyal (3 for 14 in 10 overs) and Navdeep Saini (2 for 28 in 9 overs) skittled out Tripura for 100 in 39.3 overs with former UP batsman Parvinder Singh top-scoring with 20. Left-arm spinners Manan Sharma (2 for 24) and Pawan Negi (2 for 2) also did their bit. FULL UPDATES: Delhi vs Tripura, Vijay Hazare Trophy 2015-16, Group C

In reply, Delhi romped home in 16 overs losing only two wickets. Young Nitish Rana slammed 48-ball-67 with 10 boundaries and three huge sixes. Openers Unmukt Chand (14) and Dhruv Shorey (1) were dismissed cheaply but the meagre target never posed any threats for the Delhi batsmen.

Delhi earlier beat Baroda and Odisha by five wickets and 31 runs respectively, while losing to Vidarbha by 18 runs in a closely fought game. Delhi however, failed to progress beyond the group stage in the ongoing Ranji Trophy 2015-16, where they finished a point behind Assam to finish fourth in Group A of the points table.

Brief scores:

Tripura 100 in 39.3 overs (Parvinder Singh 20; Pawan Suyal 3 for 14, Pawan Negi 2 for 2, Navdeep Saini 2 for 28) lost to Delhi 101 for 2 in 16 overs (Nitish Rana 67*) by 8 wickets.