Abhimanyu Mithun was picked up a couple of wickets in the match against Haryana © Getty Images (File photo)
Abhimanyu Mithun was picked up a couple of wickets in the match against Haryana © Getty Images (File Photo)

Bengaluru: Karnataka produced an all-round performance to get the better of Haryana by 38 runs in their second match of Group B in the Vijay Hazare One-Day cricket tournament, here today. Put in to bat, Karnataka posted 242 for nine in their allotted 50 overs and then bundled out Haryana for 204 in 46.3 overs. Karnataka rode on crucial contributions from opener KL Rahul (40), and tail-enders Jagadeesha Suchith (46) and skipper R Vinay Kumar (41) to get past the 240-run mark. For Haryana, Harshal Patel was the pick of the bowlers with figures of four for 62.  Full updates: Vijay Hazare Trophy 2015-16, Karnataka vs Haryana

Chasing a competitive total, Haryana got off to a disastrous start, losing their top three wickets for just 10 runs on the board. Although, R P Sharma (46) and Rahul Dagar (96 not out) steadied the boat by putting on 86 runs for the fourth wicket. But Sharma’s dismissal triggered a collapse and none of the lower order batsmen could provide any support to Dagar, who remained stranded at 96 not out off 116 balls.

At the end, the visitors failed to cross the final hurdle with Abhimanyu Mithun (2 for 26), Vinay Kumar (2 for 39) and Suchith (2 for 40) chipping in with two wickets each. Karnataka will be happy to have won the match as they were beaten by a wicket in the previous fixture against Railways. Vinay Kumar starred with bat and ball in that match as well, but it was eventually Karn Sharma’s all-round display that took the match away from the defending champions.

Brief scores:

Karnataka: 242 for 9 in 50 overs (Jagadeesha Suchith 46, R Vinay Kumar 41, KL Rahul 40; Harshal Patel 4 for 62) beat Haryana: 204  in 46.3 overs (Rahul Dagar 96*; Abhimanyu Mithun 2 for 26, R Vinay Kumar 2 for 39, J Suchith 2 for 40) by 38 runs.