A round-up of the Elite A matches in round nine of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy
A round-up of the Elite A matches in round nine of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy

A round-up of the Elite A matches in round nine of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Mumbai registered their sixth win of the Vijay Hazare Trophy by overhauling Goa s target of 187 with almost 35 overs to spare. After Dhawan Kulkarni s 3/32 along with two wickets each for Royston Dias, S Mulani and Shivam Dube had kept Goa to a moderate total, Akhil Herwadkar struck his maiden List-A century to help Mumbai breeze past the target.

Goa were restricted to 2/7, but recovered through a half-century from Suyash Prabhudesai and Amit Verma s 49. But barring the two batsmen and a contribution of 29 from Keenan, no other batsman could step up and Goa were bowled out in the final over.

In reply, Jay Bista and Herwadkar got Mumbai to 54 in eight overs before Krishna Das got the first breakthrough. Shreyas Iyer and Suryakumar Yadav faced disappointments with low scores before Sidhesh Lad and Herwadkar forged an unbeaten 96-run stand for the fourth wicket to see his side through. Herwadkar struck 11 fours and four sixes during his 112-ball knock to put Mumbai on top of the Elite A group. Goa, meanwhile, slipped to their third loss to be placed seventh.

Mumbai 189 for 3 (Akhil Herwadkar 108*, Jay Bista 32; Krishna Das 2/31) beat Goa 186 all out (Suyash Prabhudesai 52, Amit Verma 49; Dhawal Kulkarni 3/32) by seven wickets.

Yuvraj, Gurkeerat power Punjab

At the Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru Gurkeerat Singh s sixth List A hundred and Yuvraj Singh 121-ball 96 helped Punjab to 58-run win (VJD) over Railways. The took Punjab to fourth on the points tally while Railways remain winless after six matches.

After opting to bat first, Punjab lost opener Manan Vohra for 13 but U-19 star Shubman Gill continued his rich vein of form compiling his second fifty plus score. He was out for 53 to Maduhr Khatir before Yuvraj and Gurkeerat combined to add 146 runs for the fourth wicket.

However, Yuvraj was dismissed four runs short of what could have been his 20th List A hundred by pacer Chandrakant Sakure. Gurkeerat then powered Punjab to 284 for six.

In reply, skipper Saurabh Wakaskar lead from the front scoring 104 off 108 but could not find support from his batsman with next best being No.6 batsman Manish Rao s 30. The target was revised to 269 in 45 overs after a brief rain delay, but Railways were eventually bowled out for 210 with Mayank Markande claiming 3 for 40.

Brief Scores: Punjab 284/6 (Gurkeerat Singh 101, Yuvraj Singh 96; Chandrakant Sakure 3/85) beat Railways 210 (Saurabh Wakaskar 104, Mayank Markande 3/40) by 58 runs

Vidarbha clinch close win

At the KSCA Cricket Ground, Alur, Vidarbha clinched a close encounter against Maharashtra for the first win of the campaign. Chasing 205 to win, Vidarbha got over the line with three wickets in hand four balls remaining, to hand Maharashtra their first loss of the tournament.

After electing to bat first Maharashtra had a strong start with with top three among the runs – Rituraj Gaikwad 32*, Jay Pande 28 and Ankit Bawne 62, but their innings tapered off to finish at 205 for 8.

In reply, Vidarbha were in all sorts of trouble at 48 for 5 in 20.3 overs with left-arm pacer Samad Fallah removing openers Ramaswamy Sanjay (7) and Akshay Kolhar (8). However, wicketkeeper-batsman Akshay Wadkar put his hands up with an unbeaten 120-ball 82 and and combined for a match-winning 83-run stand for the eighth wicket with debutant No.9 Darshan Nalkande (53* off 30 balls) and took their team home in a tense finish.

Brief Scores: Vidarbha 206/7 (Akshay Wadkar 82*, Darshan Nalkande 53*; Samad Fallah 2/33) beat Maharashtra 205/8 (Ankit Bawne 62; Darshan Nalkande 2/26) by three wickets