Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19, Elite B wrap: Delhi begin with win, Andhra top group

A round-up of the Elite Group B matches on day two of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Andhra made it two wins in a row with a more relaxed victory over Odisha at Palam, unlike their frenetic seven-run success against Kerala on Wednesday, to top the group. There was still time for a batting wobble, as a scoreline of 33/3 shows, but the opener Ashwin Hebbar (92*) and Dwarka Ravi Teja (53*) finished the chase for Andhra.

KS Bharat was run out first ball, and then Hanuma Vihari and Ricky Bhui were dismissed off successive balls by Pappu Roy. B Sumanth (24) and Hebbar steadied the chase before Teja showed his experience with a stabilising 53 off 83 balls. Hebbar was not out 92 off 130 at the end.

Odisha underwhelmed in managing 184/9 in their 50 overs. A series of fits and starts was followed by Sujit Lanka (55) and Abhishek Raut (41) putting up a fight, but that total was not enough to really put Andhra under the pump. Another three-wicket haul to former Railways and one-time India spinner Karn Sharma led the way.

Andhra 186/4 in 47.1 overs (Hebbar 92*, Teja 53*) beat Odisha 184/9 in 50 overs (Lenka 55) by six wickets

At the Kotla, hosts Delhi opened their campaign with a five-win over Saurashtra. Back in Delhi s one-day plans for the first time since 2016, medium-pacer Subodh Bhati claimed 5/27 in his third List A game to help bowl out Saurashtra for 237 in 49.3 overs. His wickets came after Lalit Yadad bowled Cheteshwar Pujara for 53 off 89 balls and helped pull Saurashtra back from 222/4 in the 46th over.

Sheldon Jackson and Arpit Vasavada also scored fifties, but losing five wickets to Bhati smashed any chances of a late-order surge.

Jaydev Unadkat gave Saurashtra an immediate breakthrough when he bowled Unmukt Chand first ball of Delhi s chase. Gautam Gambhir s 48-ball 62 and a breezy 30 from Dhruv Shorey began the counter-attack and Himmat Singh s unbeaten 74 and 36 not out from Lalit Yadav ensured the chase was finished without much stress.

Delhi 238/5 in 46 overs (Himmat 74*, Gambhir 62) beat Saurashtra 237 in 49.3 overs (Jackson 62, Pujara 53, Vasavada 50, Bhati 5/24) by five wickets

Chhattisgarh got their first win by beating Madhya Pradesh by 122 runs at Palam. Skipper Harpreet Bhatia s 91 off 110 balls proved match-winning in a total of 268/7, as MP were dismissed for 146 in 38.2 overs with three wickets each to Pankaj Rao, MSS Hussain and Jatin Saxena.

Bhatia entered the match at 25/2 and took the score to 166/4 when he was out in the 37th over. Wicketkeeper Manoj Singh (41 off 36), Saxena (30 off 32) and Vishal Singh (31 off 24) contributed handy cameos to put a good total on board. For MP, Ishwar Pandey claimed four wickets.

MP s chase stumbled from the start, and losing four wickets inside 17 overs proved costly.

Chhattisgarh 268/7 in 50 overs (Bhatia 91, Pandey 4/45) beat Madhya Pradesh 146 in 38.2 overs (Tripathi 59) by 122 runs