elite c

A round-up of the Elite C matches on day four of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Tamil Nadu were helped by crucial lower-order contributions as they narrowly beat Rajasthan by one wicket. Reduced to 93 for eight, Shahrukh Khan and M Mohammed provided Tamil Nadu much-needed support after their top order was blown away by Deepak Chahar and TM Ul Haq. Shahrukh scored 20 and Mohammed remained unbeaten on 22 to win the game for their side.

Batting first, Rajasthan were on their way to a repeat performance of their clash against Jharkhand. From 43/5, it was mostly because of TN Dhillon s half-century that Rajasthan were able to cross the 100-run mark. Barring Dhillon, only three more batsmen registered double digit scores. Left-arm spinner R Sai Kishore registered a five-wicket haul and chipped away at Rajasthan s middle order. It was Dhillon and AR Lamba s 58 run stand for the seventh wicket that allowed Rajasthan a reasonable total.

Like Rajasthan, TN too had a forgettable start and had lost half their side with 49 on board. Balchandar Anirudh weathered the storm and put 40 much needed runs with Shahrukh for the sixth wicket. Chahar, Lamba and Dhillon kept chipping away wicket wickets but couldn t stop Mohammed from guiding the team home.

Brief scores: Rajasthan 133 in 37.1 Overs (Tajinder Singh 55; R Sai Kishore 5-39) lost to Tamil Nadu 134/9 in 32.5 overs (Balchander Anirudh 40, M Mohammed 22*; Rahul Chahar 3-35) by 1 wicket.

Led by captain Amit Mishra s 3/26 in 10 overs, Haryana registered a three-wicket win against J&K after the Parvez Rasool-led team was bowled out for 108. Ahmad Banday and Shubham Khajuria posted 27 for the opening wicket before wickets started tumbling. Paras Sharma s contribution of 25 was the only substantial contribution before Arun Chaprana, Rahu Tewatia and Jayant Yadav strangled the scoring.

In reply, Irfan Pathan reduced Haryana to 5/3 and at one point, his figures read 3-4-3-2. They recovered through N Saini, H Rana and Pramod Chandila, who contributed with 19, 30 and 29. Auqib Nabi s dismissal of Rana and Chandila off consecutive balls must have sent some panic waves but Jayant resisted to see his side through.

Brief scores: Jammu & Kashmir 108 in 34.3 overs (Paras Sharma 25; Amit Mishra 3-26) lost to Haryana 117/7 in 36.1 overs (Himanshu 30, Pramod Chandila 29; Aqib Nabi 3-32) by 3 wickets.

Wicketkeeper batsman Smit Patel s century for Tripura went in vain as his team fell short by just nine runs in chase of Bengal s 272 for nine.

Patel, playing as an outstation player, batted through the innings scoring 135 off 153 deliveries with the help of 13 boundaries. Fellow opener NN Sen Chowdhary made 53 off 70 while middle-order batsman BR Shetty scored 37 off 32.

For Bengal, Ashok Dinda picked 2 for 49 while young P Ray Barman also picked two wickets.

After opting to bat first, skipper Manoj Tiwary lead the way with a run-a-ball 67. SD Chatterjee made 44 while AP Majumdar scored 48 off 35. Barman s 16-ball 25 helped Bengal to 271 for nine.

For Tripura, RA Dey picked four for 48.

Brief Scores: Bengal 27/9 (Manoj Tiwary 67; AP Majumdar 48; RA Dey 4/48) beat Tripura 263/4 (Smit Patel 135, NN Sen Chowdhary 53; P Ray Barman 2/42) by nine runs