A round-up of the Elite B matches in round nine of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy

A full-strength Tamil Nadu notched up their fifth win of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19 riding on Abhinav Mukund’s 131 as TN made short work of the target of 196 set by Tripura at Indian Institute of Technology Chemplast Ground, Chennai in Round 11 on Wednesday.

After electing to bat first, Tripura’s Smit Patel made 60 of 72 while the other batsmen struggled to get going. After losing opener Bishal Ghosh for three, Smit played positively and scored 11 boundaries during his knock but was the second wicket to fall when the team score was 84 in 20 overs.

Ninad Kadam scored 31 off 42 to keep Tripura afloat but Tamil Nadu chipped away with wickets. PAcer V Athisayaraj Davidson claimed 3 for 46 while left-arm pacer Rahil Shah, off spinner Washington Sundar and led spinner  Varun Chakravathi picked two wickets each.

Abhjit Sarkar’s 19-ball 24 batting at No.10 then pushed Tripura’s score to 196.

In reply, TN openers Narayan Jagadeesan (40) and Abhinav Mukund (131) motored along and added 135 runs for the opening wicket in 20.1 overs. Harmeet Singh picked up Jagadeesan and five runs alter sent back Murali Vijay for 5. But, in company of Baba Indrajit (18*), Mukund saw his team through with 18/4 overs remaining and eight wickets in hand.

Brief Scores: Tamil Nadu 197/2 (Abhinav Mukund 131*; Harmeet Singh 2/46) beat Tripura 196 (Smit Patel 60, Athisayaraj Davidson 3/46) by eight wickets.

At MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Haryana joined Jharkhand at the top of the Elite C points tally with 22 points claiming their fifth win in seven matches.

Himanshu Rana’s 67 and Jayant Yadav’s unbeaten 47 lead Haryana to 247 for 7 before the bowlers managed to restrict Gujarat to 203 with Yadav picking up 3 for 35. Harshal Patel added 2 for 33 while Amit Mishra claimed 2 for 41.

Yuzvendra Chahal and Mohit Sharma claimed one wicket each.

After being put in to bat, Haryana were in trouble losing Patel (0) and Chaitanya Bishnoi (0) pacer Chintan Gaja in one over. Shubham Rohilla (32) then steadied the innings with Nitin Saini (18), before Rana and Pramod Chandila (34) got together for a stand of 67 runs for the fifth wicket.

Yadav then batted with the tail to push Haryana’s total to 247 for 7.

Gujarat too had a bad start losing two wickets for just 10 runs before the middle-order of Rujul Bhatt (30), Manpreet Juneja (38) and Gandhi put on a resistance. Haryana, however, picked up wickets at regular intervals and bundled Gujarat for 2013.

Brief Scores: Haryana 247/7 (Himanshu Rana 67; Chintan Gaja 3/44) beat Gujarat 203 (Chirag Gandhi 52; Jayant Yadav 3/35) by 44 runs

At the Sri Sivasubramaniya Nadar College of Engineering Ground, Jammu and Kashmir picked up a morale boosting maiden win of their campaign courtesy the VJD method.

After Rajasthan had stuttered to 218 for 8 in their 50 overs, the match was reduced to 36 overs and J and K overhauled the revised target with just three balls and three wickets remaining.

Rajasthan were earlier buoyed by Manender Singh’s 50 and Salman Khan’s 60 while J and K’s Parvez Rasool picked up 3 for 36.

In reply, J and K had a strong start with opener Shubham Khajuria making 57 while one down batsman Ian Dev Singh scored 51. But J an K lost their way after that losing 5 wickets for just 28 runs. But they managed to cross the finish line in the end.

Brief Scores: J and K 179/7 (Shubham Khajuria 57, Ian Dev Singh 51; Rahul Chahar 3/37) beat Rajasthan 218/8 (Salman Khan 60, Manendar Singh 50; Parvez Rasool 3/36) by three wickets (VJD method)