Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20, Group C: Vijay stars in Tamil Nadu win; Rajasthan slump to fifth defeat

Opening batsman Murali Vijay scored 117 off 131 as Tamil Nadu sauntered to an eight-wicket win over Jammu and Kashmir.

murali vijay photo

Murali Vijay (File Photo)

Related articles

Vijay leads dominating performance

Opening batsman Murali Vijay scored 117 off 131 as Tamil Nadu sauntered to an eight-wicket win over Jammu and Kashmir in Jaipur on Friday. Set to 239 to win, TN chased down the target with two overs to spare after Vijay had set the platform with 14 fours during his knock. Baba Aparajith scored an unbeaten 86 as TN cruised to their fifth straight win of the season.

J&K were put in to bat at the KL Saini Ground and were off to a decent start with the openers adding 42 runs. However, they quickly slipped to 61/3 with Sai Kishore taking two wickets in his consecutive overs. Fifties from Qamran Iqbal, Shubhman Singh and Adbul Samad helped them to a respectable 238/9 but that wasn’t going to be enough.

Brief Scores: J&K 238 for 9 in 50 overs (Qamran Iqbal 67, Shubham Singh Pundir 66, Abdul Samad 50, R Sai Kishore 2/17, T Natarajan 2/45) lost to Tamil Nadu 239 for 2 in 48 overs (M Vijay 117, B Aparajith 86 not out).

TN: 4 points, J&K: 0.

MP lose despite Ojha ton

Captain Naman Ojha scored a superb century but his effort went in vain as Madhya Pradesh suffered their third defeat of the season. Opting to bat at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur, Ojha smashed 130 off 144  while Anand Baise scored 61 off 63 as MP posted a challenging 282/7 in 50 overs.

However, Services pair of Ravi Chauhan and Gahlaut Singh scored century apiece as they chased down the target with 17 deliveries to spare. Chauhan scored 118 while Gahlaut belted 10 fours and four sixes in a quickfire 109 off 84.

Brief Scores: Madhya Pradesh 282 for 7 in 50 overs (Naman Ojha 130 (144 balls, 7 fours, 4 sixes), Anand Singh Bais 61, Diwesh Gurdev Pathania 4/50, Raj Bahadur Pal 2/58) lost to Services 283 for 3 in 47 overs (Ravi Chauhan 118, Rahul Gahlaut 107).

Services: 4 points, MP: 0.

Bishal hits ton in Tripura’s third win

Rajasthan’s winless run continued as they slumped to their fifth defeat of the season with Tripura winning by 47 runs at Jaipur Vidyalaya. Put in to bat, Tripura’s innings was driven by opener Bishal Ghosh hitting 128 off 129 with 10 fours and three sixes while Tanmay Mishra scored 56 as they posted 285/8. In reply, several Rajasthan top-order batsmen got the starts but only captain Mahipal Lomror could convert his own into something significant. Lomror scored 71 as Rajasthan were bowled out for 238 in 47 overs.

Brief Scores: Tripura 285 for 8 in 50 overs (Bishal Ghosh 128 (129 balls, 10 fours, 3 sixes), Tanmay Mishra 56, Ravi Bishnoi 2/47, A Choudhary 2/54, Rahul Chahar 2/64) beat Rajasthan 238 all out in 47 overs(Mahipal Lomror 71 ).

Tripura: 4 points, Rajasthan: 0.

trending this week