Vijay Hazare Trophy: Ajinkya Rahane named captain of Mumbai
Ajinkya Rahane is expected to play at least four matches. @Getty

Ajinkya Rahane has been named Mumbai captain for the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy starting September 19. India’s Test vice-captain has replaced Aditya Tare, under whom Mumbai won the 2015-16 Ranji Trophy.

The Mumbai Cricket Association selectors named Shreyas Iyer as deputy to Rahane. Coached by former wicketkeeper Vinayak Samant, Mumbai will play their first match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy against Baroda in Alur on September 19.

Rahane is expected to feature in the first four matches, coming off a poor Test series in England.

The 30-year-old batsman averaged 25.70 across five Tests, scoring 257 runs with two half-centuries and was also overlooked for Asia Cup in the UAE.

Rahane played 156 List A matches in which he has scored 5457 runs at 37.63 including eight centuries and 39 half-centuries. He last played an ODI for India during the South Africa tour earlier this year and was dropped for the three-ODI series against England that preceded the Test series.