Virat Kohli wished women on International Women’s Day. (Photo Courtesy: Twitter;@imVkohli)

As the world celebrates International Women’s Day on 8th March ,people from all over the world pay respect and show their appreciation and love for women on the occasion. The cricket fraternity too paid their respect to women from all around the world. Cricketers like Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle, Shikhar Dhawan and Shoaib Akhtar shared their feelings for mothers, sisters,wives, daughters and other women on Twitter. Many among them spoke about more power, courage and strength to women. LIVE CRICKET SCORECARD: Hong Kong vs Zimbabwe, ICC World T20 2016, 1st T20 Match, Group B at Nagpur

Popular Indian batsman Virat Kohli who is quite active on social media shared his thoughts too. The right-handed in-form player tweeted – “Sorry for the jerks, the cat-callers, the stalkers. Don’t let them ruin it for the rest of us. Happy Women’s Day”. Kohli who has always stood up for women empowerment, with this tweet on the social media platform sent out this gesture along with a picture that read ‘Sorry’.

Not only Kohli, his Indian teammates Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma shared their emotions on International Women’s Day as well. Rohit Sharma tweeted on his twitter handle – “Gotta love a day dedicated to celebrating our women. A real class act celebrates the women in his life everyday #HappyWomensDay”. Also, Chris Gayle, the West Indian Batsman also came out in support for women with a tweet saying – “ Happy Women’s Day. Tag a woman who support West Indies.” Meanwhile, former Pakistan fast-bowler Shoaib Akhtar sent out a tweet saying – “ My source of inspiration and my guidance is my mother .. happy women’s day…”. Ex-Sri Lankan cricketer Russel Arnold too also saluted women around the world tweeting – “Saluting all Women !!!! Happy Women’s day !!! ”.






All these player will soon be seen playing against each other in the ICC Twenty20 (T20) World Cup 2016, which has began with Hong Kong and Zimbabwe playing against each other in the Match No.1 of Round 1,  underway at Nagpur.