Virat Kohli © AFP
Virat Kohli is CEAT T20 Cricketer of 2016 © AFP

Virat Kohli has been named the CEAT T20 Cricketer of the year 2016. CEAT Dream Team for T20s for 2016 comprises of six Indian players in the playing XI. They are Rohit Sharma, Kohli, MS Dhoni, Amit Mishra, Suresh Raina and Ravichandran Ashwin. The five foreign players are South African batsman AB de Villiers, Australian pacer Mitchell Starc, Andre Russell, David Warner and Faf du Plessis. Thus there are two South Africans, two Australians and a West Indian. Mustafizur Rahman is the 12th man. Dhoni has been named as the wicketkeeper and captain for this dream team. Kohli being named for this award is just another big achievement for him after bagging Player of the Tournament award in IPL 2016, and also being named as the third most marketable sportsperson in the world. READ: Virat Kohli ahead of Lionel Messi, Novak Djokovic as most marketable player

England batsman Joe Root was named as the Ceat International Cricketer of the Year as well as International Batsman of the Year. India off-spinner R Ashwin won the Ceat International Bowler of the Year award while Rohit Sharma was named as the Indian Cricketer of the Year. Kohli has been in the form of his life in the shortest format recently as he was named as Player-of-the-Tournament in the World T20 held in India earlier this year and won the orange cap for amassing the most runs of 973 in 16 matches in the just-concluded IPL-9. 60-year-old Vengsarkar had amassed 6868 runs in 116 Tests with 17 hundreds to boot that included a hat-trick of tons in successive Test appearances at Lord’s cricket ground in England. Vengsarkar was also a part of the 1983-World Cup winning Indian team. READ: Virat Kohli wins CEAT Cricketer of the Year 2014

The award winners:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dilip Vengsarkar

International Cricketer of the Year: Joe Root

International Batsman of the Year: Joe Root

International Bowler of the Year: R Ashwin

Test Cricketer of the Year: Kane Williamson

ODI Cricketer of the Year: Martin Guptill

T20 Player of the Year: Virat Kohli

Indian Cricketer of the Year: Rohit Sharma

Domestic Cricketer of the Year: Shreyas Iyer

Young Player of the Year: Rishabh Pant

Special Award: Ajinkya Rahane.

(With PTI inputs)