Virat Kohli named Indian captain for Zimbabwe tour; Gautam Gambhir misses out again

Virat Kohli (right) will lead india in Zimbabwe as MS Dhoni is suffering from hamstring injury  © Getty Images

Mumbai: Jul 5, 2013

Parvez Rasool on Friday, became the first player from Jammu and Kashmir to be named in the Indian cricket team as the selectors opted to rest captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and four other top players for the five-match One-Day International (ODI) series in Zimbabwe later this month.

Prolific batsman Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane were also recalled in the 15-man squad to be led by young Virat Kohli who is currently leading the team in the West Indies following a hamstring injury to Dhoni.

Saurashtra pacer Jaydev Unadkat and Haryana speedster Mohit Sharma, who made an impression in the Indian Premier League 2013 for the Chennai Super Kings, were also named in the squad announced by BCCI secretary Sanjay Patel after a meeting of the selection committee in Mumbai.

Apart from Dhoni, pacemen Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and spinner Ravichandran Aswhin were also rested while Murali Vijay was dropped from the team.

The selectors also decided to ignore veterans like Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar and preferred to go with youngsters for the Zimbabwe tour to be held from July 24 to August 3.

India will play five ODI matches during the series to be held in Harare and Bulawayo.

India squad:

Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya  Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Shami Ahmed, Vinay Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohit Sharma