Keeping their dominance and the margin of victories in mind, it would not be an exaggeration to say that Virat Kohli and Co. have easily emerged as the team to beat in the Test cricket. On Sunday, India crushed Bangladesh by an innings and 46 runs in their maiden Pink-Ball Test. Courtesy this special performance, Kohli also added another feather to his already illustrious cap.

The 31-year-old surpassed former skipper MS Dhoni’s (6 wins) record of most number of successive Test wins. He became the first Indian skipper to win seven successive Test matches. Under Dhoni’s reign, India had registered sixth successive victories in the five-day format in 2013.

Also with the win over Bangladesh in Day-Night affair, India completed four successive innings wins in the Test cricket. They have become the first-ever side to scale that feat in Tests.

The win over Bangladesh at Edens is India’s second victory in which spinners did not take a single wicket in the game. The last time it happened was in 2018 against South Africa.

With this win, India won the two-match series against Bangladesh 2-0 and has consolidated its position at the top of World Test Championship (WTC) standings with 360 points from seven matches. This is India’s fifth consecutive Test series win and 12th home series win.

Resuming day three at 152/6, Bangladesh lost their seventh wicket almost immediately as Umesh Yadav dismissed Ebadat Hossain (0) on a short-ball and had him caught at the hands of skipper Virat Kohli at third slip.

Al-Amin Hossain next came out to bat and he along with Mushfiqur Rahim put up a brief 32-run stand, but their vigil at the crease was finally ended by Umesh Yadav as he sent back the batsman Mushfiqur (74) back to the pavilion in the 40th over, reducing 184/8.

The ninth wicket was taken by Umesh Yadav and it proved to be the final scalp as Mahmudullah did not come out to bat as he had retired hurt on day two of the match due to a hamstring injury.

Bangladesh was bundled out for 193 in the final innings. Umesh picked up five wickets whereas Ishant scalped four wickets.