India have never won a Test series in South Africa touring since 1992    AFP
India have never won a Test series in South Africa touring since 1992 AFP

IndiaSouth Africa will begin 2018 with a full tour comprising of 3 Tests, 6 ODIs and 3 T20Is. The first Test will begin January 5, at Cape Town. Virat Kohli and co. will hope to end the drought in South Africa, where they have not won a single Test series since their first tour in 1992. Amidst all this, Cricket South Africa (CSA) renamed the three-match Test series between India and South Africa as Freedom Series last month. The tour was originally labelled as Friendship Series.

The earlier series name was South Africa s gratitude of sorts towards India s effort in ending their sporting isolation in 1991 after 21 years. With the aim to celebrate the Freedom that the country received, South Africa have released a promotional video that focuses on shared history between the two countries. The video also celebrates South Africa s re-entry into international cricket.

On the other hand, keeping in mind India s record in South Africa, Sony Sports Network, who will broadcast the series in India, came up with a promotional campaign hisaab 25 saal ka (payback for 25 years).

The campaign was meant to induce revenge among Indian cricket fans. The commercial showed clips of Sachin Tendulkar walking off after being dismissed. The voiceover in the commercial says Badla lenge bhagwaan ke apmaan ka (we will avenge the insult to our God). Unfortunately, it did not have much impact.

Ahead of the first Test, a specially designed trophy will also commemorate the landmark series.