WBBL: Ellyse Perry breaks Meg Lanning’s record of most runs in a season

Perry become the most prolific run-getter in a single WBBL season after surpassing Lanning's 560.

Ellyse Perry is in the middle of a barnstorming season for Sydney Sixers

Ellyse Perry is in the middle of a barnstorming season for Sydney Sixers. © Getty

Related articles

Australia and Sydney Sixers star Ellyse Perry has smashed the record for most runs scored in a single season of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) on Sunday, surpassing Meg Lanning‘s previous tally during her unbeaten 80 from 54 balls against Perth Scorchers at Lilac Hill. This is Perry’s sixth score of 50-plus, also a record for a WBBL season.

In her 12th innings of the 2018-19 WBBL, Perry made the record her own when he scored her 561st run of the competition; it came against Lanning’s team, Scorchers.

Her Australia captain Lanning had in 2016 during the inaugural WBBL stacked up 560 runs at an average of 56 for Melbourne Stars, where she followed up the second season as the top scorer as well. This season, Perry has scored two centuries and four fifties amass 617 runs at an average of 88.14 and strike-rate of 130.72 – well clear of the next best, Elyse Villani with 390 from 10.

Perry, 28, has been a pivotal member of the Australian women’s cricket team and her WBBL franchise Sydney Sixers, for whom she has scored over nearly 2000 runs.

Lanning, captain of the current No 1 team in T20Is and reigning ICC Women’s World T20 champions, owns a host of records in her glittering career. In 2012, at the age of 20, she broke the record for the fastest fifty and hundred in an ODI by an Australian female cricketer. Earlier in that season, Lanning broke the record for the highest score in a National Women’s Cricket League match when she made 175, and a week later smashed 241 off 136 deliveries for the highest score in a Victorian Women’s Cricket Association game. During the 2012 Women’s World T20 she became the first player to score over 30 runs in five consecutive T20Is.

Lanning left Melbourne Stars after the 2017 WBBL season to join Perth Scorchers.

trending this week