West Indies A restrict India A to 190 in first ODI

Ajinkya Rahane to top-scored with 58 Getty Images

St. George’s (Grenada): Jun 28, 2012

India A, winning the toss, could muster only 190 off 49.5 overs in the first of their three-match One-Day series against West Indies A at the National Stadium.

Ajinkya Rahane, who had a poor Test series regained some form to top-score with 58 while Shikhar Dhawan made 30. After their departure, only Manoj Tiwari and Jalaj Saxena got into the 20s.

Veerasammy Permaul, who returned to lead West Indies A after missing the two-match twenty20 series, was the most successful bowler, claiming four wickets for 28 runs, while Jason Holder (2 for 30) and Jonathan Carter (2 for 41) bowled well with the new ball.

West Indies made six changes for the series following the tied two-match Twenty20 series in Trinidad and Tobago last weekend. Selectors called up Adrian Barath, Shane Dowrich, Kirk Edwards, Assad Fudadin, Nikita Miller and Nelon Pascal.

Leg-spinner Samuel Badree, who played in both T20s at the weekend, has been called up to the West Indies senior team while Christopher Barnwell, Sulieman Benn, Danza Hyatt, Garey Mathurin and Krishmar Santokie have all been dropped.

Barbadian wicketkeeper Dowrich, meanwhile, has been called up to replace the injured Devon Thomas who also missed the T20 series.

Barath, Edwards and Fudadin played in the recent Test series against England while Miller and Pascal have been out of favour with selectors in recent times. (IANS)

Brief score: India A 190 all out in 49.5 overs (Ajinkya Rahane 58, Shikhar Dhawan 30, Manoj Tiwary 26, Jalaj Saxena 22; Veerasammy Permaul 4 for 28, Jason Holder 2 for 30, Jonathan Carter 2 for 41) vs West Indies A