Devon Smith last played for West Indies in 2014-15    Getty Images
Devon Smith last played for West Indies in 2014-15 Getty Images

West Indies have announced a 13-member squad for upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka. They have included Devon Smith, who is returning to the national squad after three years. Wicketkeeper Jahmar Hamilton is the other inclusion worth a mention. Hamilton is receiving his maiden West Indies call up after impressing selectors with his performances against England Lions for West Indies A side. He has been playing First-Class cricket since 2008. Smith, on the other hand, is riding on Professional Cricket League Regional 4-Day Tournament show, where he plundered 1,095 runs at 84.23.

WICB Chairman of Selectors Courtney Browne said: “We have retained the core of the Test team as they remain competitive even after a tough series in New Zealand. Devon Smith had an outstanding year and players who excel to that degree should be recognised. We are trying to improve our top order batting performances. Jahmar Hamilton comes into the squad after consecutive strong performances over the last three years and showed even better quality in the ‘A’ team series against the England Lions. We wish the team every success.”

Jason Holder continues to lead the side. The first Test of the three-match series against Sri Lanka will be played on June 6 at Port-of-Spain.

West Indies squad for Sri Lanka Tests: Jason Holder (c), Shane Dowrich (wk), Jahmar Hamilton (wk), Devendra Bishoo, Devon Smith, Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Kemar Roach.