Meg Lanning

The women’s Ashes would take place in January 2014 © Getty Images

Melbourne: Aug 27, 2013

The Ashes rivalry will continue into the New Year with the women’s Ashes series in Australia, it was announced on Tuesday.

Australia and England will compete across all three formats in the Ashes which begin on Jan 10, 2014 in Perth.

The fixtures features one Test in Perth, three One-Day Internationals (ODI) — two in Melbourne and one in Hobart — and three T20 Internationals. The winner of each match accrues points based on a weighting-system to determine which team will claim the women’s Ashes trophy at the end of the Series.

Cricket Australia (CA) chief executive James Sutherland said: “This will be the first time the women’s Ashes series will be played in Australia according to the new points format, so each match will be vital in determining who will claim the trophy.”