Anuja Patil Mithali Raj Harmanpreet Kaur India Women Sri Lanka Asia Cup T20 2018
Anuja Patil was named Player of the Match for her 4-0-19-1 and 16-ball 19* © Getty Images (file photo)

India Women brushed Sri Lanka Women aside in Match 12 of the 2018 Women’s Asia Cup T20 at Royal Selangor Club, Kuala Lumpur. India won by 7 wickets with 7 balls in hand. Opting to bat, Sri Lanka reached 50 for 1 in the 11th over before the Indian spinners slammed the brakes, restricting them to 107 for 7. Hasini Perera top-scored with a 43-ball 46 not out. Yasoda Mendis scored 27, but it took her 39 balls. Nobody else managed to go past even 6. Other than Shikha Pandey (who bowled one over), every Indian bowler conceded less than 6 an over, and four of them went for 5 or less. There were only 6 fours in the innings.

The Indians were slow to begin with, but they never seemed to be in any sort of problem. Mithali Raj became the first Indian to the 2,000-run mark in T20Is. Raj, Smriti Mandhana, and Harmanpreet Kaur all reached double-figures before Veda Krishnamurthy and Anuja Patil killed it off with the final onslaught. Patil was named Player of the Match for her 4-0-19-1 and 16-ball 19 not out.

India Women are currently placed at the top of the points table. They are tied with Pakistan and Bangladesh on points but are ahead on net run rate. However, Bangladesh Women stand at an advantage, as India and Pakistan play their last match against each other while Bangladesh play Malaysia.

2018 Women’s Asia Cup T20 Points Table
Team M W P NRR Last match against
India 4 3 6 2.709 Pakistan
Pakistan 4 3 6 2.602 India
Bangladesh 4 3 6 0.454 Malaysia
Sri Lanka 4 2 4 1.134 Thailand
Thailand 4 1 2 -1.330 Sri Lanka
Malaysia 4 0 0 -5.784 Bangladesh

As expected, Matches 10 and 11 turned out to be one-sided affairs. Thailand were restricted to 60 for 8 by Bangladesh. Salma Khatun (4-0-6-2) and Nahida Akhter (4-2-10-2) did the main damage. Bangladesh chased down the target with 9 wickets and 53 balls in hand. Pakistan blazed to 177 for 5, with Bismah Maroof (62 in 37 balls) and Nida Dar (41 in 27) leading the charge. Malaysia were then skittled out for 30 in 18.4 overs, Dar leading the rout with 3.4-0-5-4.