The Cricket World Cup trophy    Getty Images
The Cricket World Cup trophy Getty Images

The World Cup 2019 is scheduled to be hosted at 11 venues across England and Wales. The most prestigious event will begin with a clash between England and South Africa at The Oval, London on May 30. It will be followed by Pakistan’s opening match against West Indies on May 31 at Trent Bridge and Sri Lanka‘s first match against New Zealand on June 1 at the Cardiff Wales Stadium.

Meanwhile, India will kick start their World Cup campaign against South Africa on June 5 instead of June 2 as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has to maintain a 15-day gap between the Indian Premier League (IPL) and an international fixture as per Lodha Panel recommendations.

India will take on Pakistan at Old Trafford on June 16 which will be the most awaited match of the tournament. In what is expected to be a high-octane clash, India will meet Pakistan two years after their clash in the finals of the 2017 Champions Trophy-which Pakistan went on to win by 180 runs.

Meanwhile, arch-rivals England and Australia will face each other at Lord’s Cricket Ground on June 19. Another much-awaited encounter between 2015 World Cup finalists Australia and New Zealand will take place on June 29 at Lord’s.

Earlier, Afghanistan and the West Indies qualified for the World Cup as they ended on top two spot of the World Cup Qualifier 2018, Zimbabwe. The tournament will see the return of the format which was used in 1992. All the ten teams will face each other once, with the top-four sides making it to the knockouts.

The first semifinal will take place on July 9 at Old Trafford, while the second last-four clash will be held at Edgbaston on July 11. TThe prestigious Lord’s stadium will host it’s 15th World Cup final.

Here’s the probable schedule for World Cup 2019.

Date Team 1 Team 2 Venue
30/5/19 England South Africa The Oval
31/5/19 Pakistan West Indies Trent Bridge
1/6/19 New Zealand Sri Lanka Cardiff
1/6/19 D/N Afghanistan Australia Bristol
2/6/19 South Africa Bangladesh The Oval
3/6/19 England Pakistan Trent Bridge
4/6/19 Sri Lanka Afghanistan Cardiff
5/6/19 India South Africa Southampton
5/6/19 D/N New Zealand Bangladesh The Oval
6/6/19 Australia West Indies Trent Bridge
7/6/19 Pakistan Sri Lanka Bristol
8/6/19 England Bangladesh Cardiff
8/6/19 D/N New Zealand Afghanistan Taunton
9/6/19 India Australia The Oval
10/6/19 South Africa West Indies Southampton
11/6/19 Sri Lanka Bangladesh Bristol
12/6/19 Pakistan Australia Taunton
13/6/19 India New Zealand Trent Bridge
14/6/19 England West Indies Southampton
15/6/19 D/N South Africa Afghanistan Cardiff
15/6/19 Sri Lanka Australia The Oval
16/6/19 India Pakistan Old Trafford
17/6/19 Bangladesh West Indies Taunton
18/6/19 England Afghanistan Old Trafford
19/6/19 New Zealand South Africa Edgbaston
20/6/19 Australia Bangladesh Trent Bridge
21/6/19 England Sri Lanka Headingley
22/6/19 India Afghanistan Southampton
22/6/19 D/N New Zealand West Indies Old Trafford
23/6/19 Pakistan South Africa Lord’s
24/6/19 Afghanistan Bangladesh Southampton
25/6/19 England Australia Lord’s
26/6/19 New Zealand Pakistan Edgbaston
27/6/19 India West Indies Old Trafford
28/6/19 South Africa Sri Lanka Chester-le-Street
29/6/19 D/N New Zealand Australia Lord’s
29/6/19 Pakistan Afghanistan Headingley
30/6/19 England India Edgbaston
1/7/19 Sri Lanka West Indies Chester-le-Street
2/7/19 India Bangladesh Edgbaston
3/7/19 England New Zealand Chester-le-Street
4/7/19 Afghanistan West Indies Headingley
5/7/19 Pakistan Bangladesh Lord’s
6/7/19 India Sri Lanka Headingley
6/7/19 D/N South Africa Australia Old Trafford
9/7/19 Semi-final 1 Old Trafford
10/7/19 (reserve day)
11/7/19 Semi-final 2 Edgbaston
12/7/19 (reserve day)
14/7/19 Final Lord’s
15/7/19 (reserve day)