Wriddhiman Saha, Shubman Gill to share captaincy for South Africa A unofficial Tests
Wriddhiman Saha (left) and Shubman Gill

Shubman Gill  and veteran wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha will lead India A during their two-match unofficial Test series against South Africa A.

Gill will captain the team for the first match while Saha will take over for the second game as BCCI selectors have named two different squads for the series due to ongoing Duleep Trophy 2019 whose final will be played from September 4, six days before the first unofficial Test to be played at the Krishnagiri Stadium in Wayanad.

The members who are likely to be part of the Duleep Trophy final to be played in Bengaluru have therefore been picked for the second unofficial Test that starts from September 17.

“The (selection) Committee has picked two different teams for two games considering the ongoing Duleep Trophy and those members who are likely to feature in the final to be played between India Red and India Green have therefore been picked in the squad for second India A match,” BCCI said in a media release on Sunday.

“Accordingly, Rahul Chahar will be replaced by Mayank Markande in the India Green team and Ishan Kishan will return to the India Red team for Duleep Trophy final.”

Saha is currently on national duty as part of India’s Test squad currently playing in the West Indies. Gill, on the other hand, is representing India A squad that is facing South Africa A in a five-match unofficial ODI series.

The first four-day match will be played Thiruvananthapuram from 9th September while the second match will take place in Mysore from 17th September.

India A squad for 1st match: Shubman Gill (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Anmolpreet Singh, Ricky Bhui, Ankeet Bawne, KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), K Gowtham, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Vijay Shankar

India A squad for 2nd match: Priyank Panchal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shubman Gill, Anmolpreet Singh, Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha (captain & wicket-keeper), K Gowtham, Kuldeep Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Vijay Shankar, Shivam Dube, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Avesh Khan