Yasir Shah celebrates the wicket of Rangana Herath (Image courtesy: Getty)
Yasir Shah celebrates the wicket of Rangana Herath (Image courtesy: Getty)

In the first innings of the first Test between Sri Lanka and Pakistan at Abu Dhabi, Yasir Shah re-wrote the books when he equalised Waqar Younis as the joint second fastest to 150 Test wickets. The leg-spinner made his 27th Test appearance even more special by bagging his 12th five-wicket haul in Tests before lunch on the final day to place Pakistan in brink of a victory. Sri Lanka were bowled out for 138 in the first session.

They had lost 8 wickets when it seemed Yasir was bowling the final ball of the session when Lakshan Sandakan suffered his moment of brainfade. He perished at point while trying to cut Yasir, gifting the bowler his fifth wicket and Pakistan an extended session. Hasan Ali cleaned up Nuwan Pradeep the following over. Pakistan need 136 in 2 sessions to go up 1-0 in the series.

Sri Lanka were 69 for 4 at stumps on Day Four with Kusal Mendis batting with nightwatchman Suranga Lakmal. Mendis was the first wicket to fall on the day after Mohammad Abbas trapped him inside 15 minutes of the start of the final day s play. Mendis went for the review and the umpire s call went against Sri Lanka.

Thirteen runs later, Lakmal s resistance ended when he gave in to the short-ball ploy from Abbas.

Niroshan Dickwella found little support from the other end as Yasir spun a web around Dilruwan Perera. A ball later Rangana Herath perished. Sri Lanka were 8 down and lead was short of hundred. Dickwella ensured some quick runs later.

Earlier, Sri Lanka electing to bat first put on 419 courtesy fine knocks from Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne and Dickwella. Pakistan on fifties from Shan Masood, Sami Aslam, Azhar Ali and Haris Sohail managed a 3-run lead. The innings received a late boost from Hasan Ali s 25-ball 29.

Brief scores

Sri Lanka 422 (Dimuth Karunaratne 93, Dinesh Chandimal 155, Niroshan Dickwella 83; Mohammad Abbas 3 for 75, Yasir Shah 3 for 120) & 138 (Niroshan Dickwella 40*; Yasir Shah 5 for 51) lead Pakistan 422 (Shan Masood 59, Sami Aslam 51, Azhar Ali 85, Haris Sohail 76; Rangana Herath 5 for 93) by 135 runs.